Want to know how Ernie made it home safely today? Read this from one of Ernie’s parents.

Here it is- the story of how they found Ernie today! This came from their Facebook page, Help Find Ernie, and is written by one of the owners of Ernie.

We started to gather around 8am and the search began at around 9:30. There must have been at least 30 people from all over the area that showed up to help. We had large maps of the area that helped us to pick specific areas to knock on doors and hand out flyers. According to leads about the woman seen with Ernie at Walgreens, we were particularly interested in the two subdivisions right next to and behind Walgreens. The search party was large enough to hit multiple neighborhoods and at the same time.

After receiving a couple promising leads from members of the search group I received a call to my cell phone at approx 10am from a man that said that he had Ernie. Right away I asked for an address where we could meet. Next words from the caller were “you have reward”. I said absolutely. They asked if I have “paycheck” or cash. I eagerly replied “cash money, i will meet you where ever you want”. The caller asked that I meet them at the Menards on RT 59 in Plainfield at 11:30. We asked him to send a picture of Ernie to make sure it him. The call said okay and he said “it’s Ernie, I sure”.

We ran to the rescue of my dear Aunt Debbie “Chutch” that was generous enough to provide us the cash for the reward. While on the way to pick up the cash we received a picture of Ernie. We immediately recognized our son and yelled at the top of our lungs, with tears in eyes, “that’s Ernie, that’s our baby!!”.

We arrived at Menards no later than 10:30am for the longest hour wait of our life. At exactly 11:30 we were greeted by the finders. We hand over the cash and a dog came out of the passenger side of the vehicle. IT WAS Ernie! He was very lethargic and seemed to be confused but IT WAS HIM!!

We broke many speed limits on the way home to meet the crowd of friends and family that had gathered to find Ernie. Vickie got out of our truck with Ernie and everyone cheered!! Vickie was beside herself. Brought tears to my eyes as well. He is now home and resting after a very long week for our entire family.

WE COULDN’T HAVE DONE IT WITHOUT ALL OF YOU. FOR THIS WE WILL FOREVER BE GREATFUL. WE LOVE YOU ALL DEARLY AND WELCOME YOU TO VISIT ERNIE AND US ANYTIME!

P.S. WE ABSOLUTELY ADMIT TO OFFERING A REWARD BEYOND OUR MEANS, WOULDN’T YOU IN THE SAME SITUATION?? SPECIAL THANK YOU TO ALL THAT UNDERSTAND THE SITUATION AND CONTINUE TO SUPPORT US. 🙂

Ernie from Shorewood Illinois is HOME!

Congratulations to Ernie and his family! I’m truly impressed with how the community of Shorewood, Illinois, came together so quickly and so passionately to find Ernie. It goes to show that when we work together, we can make a difference. I was not involved in Ernie’s search and I do not know Ernie or his family. I am a dog lover. HUGE dog lover. And the reason I started this blog was because I realized how many lost/missing/stolen dogs are out there and felt that they needed more people to help in finding them. Or at least if I was in the position where my dog were missing, I would hope that the WORLD would drop what they were doing to come to my rescue!

Although I’m not able to post all of the missing dogs, I do what I can. If I could somehow pay my bills and use social network full time to help advocate for these dogs, believe me, I would! That would be my dream. Honestly- a dream.

Finally, Ernie’s parents need to pay back Aunt Debbie $2,000. You can help them by donating whatever amount you are comfortable with by going to their Facebook page then clicking on FundRazr under Ernie’s profile picture. This will link you to a secure connection with PayPal. This has been a really great day for all of those involved in Ernie’s return- please help make it complete by donating whatever you can!

Thanks to all who shared Ernie’s story or any story of a missing pet. It makes a difference, it really does. So thank you for helping others. – Juli

Ernie is home!

One thought on “Want to know how Ernie made it home safely today? Read this from one of Ernie’s parents.

  1. Pingback: Raised $1,580 for #Ernie ‘s ransom. Still need $420! Can you donate $5 or $10? « kissbeep

Leave a Reply

