Saying goodbye to man’s best friend, by K9 Photography. RIP Max.

I’ve had to do it many times before and I’m sure many of you have as well. It’s awful. It’s gut wrenching. It’s so incredibly painful that it’s indescribable. Letting go of your dog (or other pet) as they breathe their last breath of life and cross over the rainbow bridge is inevitable.

I read this post on the Facebook page of K9 Photography in Gold Coats, Queensland. The Owner had to say her final goodbye to her beloved dog, Max, after 18 years. It’s beautiful, sad, but beautiful. RIP Max.

Everyone told me I would know. Those who had lost their beloved dogs told me that you would give me a sign. You would look at me and I would know.

You sat with me in my office all day and nothing was different. I felt you near me and listened to you breathing and we were together just like any other day. I didn’t know.

We walked a little on the deck and sat down outside whilst I shared my lunch with you. It was just like any other day. I didn’t suspect a thing.

I didn’t know that tomorrow I would never hold you again. I would never hear your soft breathing or feel you next to me under my feet. I didn’t know that tomorrow would hurt more than anything in this world and you wouldn’t be here to wipe away the tears with your sweet kisses on my face like you always did when I was sad.

But what I knew was this. I knew that for the past 18 years I couldn’t have loved you any more than I did. I knew that you loved me too. I knew Max that your strong heart beat just for me – the vets were all amazed at your strong will to live and love of life. 5 years was a long time to survive cardiomyopathy.

Just like that I knew. I held you in my arms on the floor whilst you seized and I cried knowing that it was time for us to let each other go. As we drove in car that’s when I knew it would be the last time you would feel the wind on your face so I rolled down the window and held you up. You were so tired.

And there it was. The moment I dreaded all your life. I felt your real tears on my face and I whispered goodbye as you took your final breath.

I didn’t know and if I did, nothing could have prepared me.

One day we will be together again.

Thank you to everyone who has left a message for me. It means more to me than you will ever know.

Leave a Reply

